Ratings & Reviews

Overall Rating

4
(120 reviews)
85% of customers recommend this property

Rating Per Category

Parking
Noise
Grounds
Construction
Maintenance
Staff

Your Review

Submit a Review

Resident Reviews

submitted by C - |Recommended: NoThis place is so bad I had to write two reviews to say what I need to say. As previously stated they are planning to charge me for things I was told would be fixed on my first day. Their excuse is, they don't have record of it. Between the 3 property managers we have had in the last year I don't know how they could have a record of anything. They made me re sign my lease because it was wrong which in turn forfeited my original inspection and are now claiming I didn't complete it. Some of the fees they will charge you are 35 per blind if they choose to ignore your maintenance request, 100 if you're 4 days late on your rent, 25 PER item that they consider trash on your porch front back, 25 PER item you forget in your apartment after you leave, 100 PER HOUR you are there past your 12 move out time. There is so much more that is wrong with this complex, the bugs, the trash, the piss poor management and employees. This complex is bankrupt and sold itself out, don't waste your time
response from property -Cameron, Thank you for the feedback. It's feedback from our residents that allow our staff to address the needs of our community. Additionally, please know the well-being of our residents is a top priority of ours. We actively work with local law enforcement to make sure of residents are comfortable in our community. The security matters that you mentioned in your review were caused by outside factors of The Bellamy. In regards to maintenance requests, we have done the research and found there were no requests made. Furthermore, it appears you never completed the proper move-in inspection form that was sent to you. Additionally, a reminder to fill it out was sent to you on 7/1/21, 7/2/21, 7/3/21, and 7/4/21. Know that the condition of your room and unit must be free of any damage at move-out. Should it not be, we will be charging fees back to your account. Thank you again for the feedback. Sincerely, Bellamy Coastal
submitted by C - |Recommended: NoIf I could give this place 0 stars I would. I want to start with the fact they are overpriced. DO NOT LIVE HERE IF YOURE HANDICAPPED 750 . The staff and management are AWFUL. I have had 3 different property managers since my stay here. They advertise a gated community yet the gate NEVER Worked. And to add to how UNSAFE this complex is, my friend has been shot at TWICE, Someone was shot and a crime scene was opened on my other friends lawn, and I was startled at 3am to about 20 cop cars with AR-15's and Shotguns on a manhunt near my building who almost hit my car during his bail out of his. I have service animals who live with me and when the newest property manager came in, he said you're not renewing right When a double payment was made, they REFUSED to give it back. and refused to accept maintenance requests within the last month and a half I have been here. I have email documentation where they are planning to charge me for things that were broken the day I moved in.
response from property -Cameron, Thank you for the feedback. It's feedback from our residents that allow our staff to address the needs of our community. Additionally, please know the well-being of our residents is a top priority of ours. We actively work with local law enforcement to make sure of residents are comfortable in our community. The security matters that you mentioned in your review were caused by outside factors of The Bellamy. In regards to maintenance requests, we have done the research and found there were no requests made. Furthermore, it appears you never completed the proper move-in inspection form that was sent to you. Additionally, a reminder to fill it out was sent to you on 7/1/21, 7/2/21, 7/3/21, and 7/4/21. Know that the condition of your room and unit must be free of any damage at move-out. Should it not be, we will be charging fees back to your account. Thank you again for the feedback. Sincerely, Bellamy Coastal
submitted by Drew - |Recommended: YesWorst place ever not only did they constantly harass me about trash or not call the police on my roomate last name Reid when he assaulted me and pushed me down the stairs which I have pictures of and a police report of bur then they tried to cover it up and say that I made it up don't spend your money here they don't care for your safety or health theyre crooks who everytime I said I'm calling the police got real real scared so maybe they have warrants who knows just don't waste your time they only see people for their checkbooks which is sad money is never that important
response from property -Hi Andrew, We hope all is well. Thank you for providing feedback regarding our community. It's through feedback like yours that we can only improve. Andrew, we always want to make sure our residents are heard. In regards to your concerns, we highly recommend contacting the Conway Police Department when any roommate disputes occur. We as your Landlord are unable to mediate or get involved with any roommate disputes which is stated within your Lease Agreement. The safety of our Residents is our top priority, and Conway Police Department has the ability to enforce the law to ensure your safety within your unit. We are always here to listen and provide assistance, and can be reached at (843)310-3332 if additional assistance regarding this matter is needed. Sincerely, Bellamy Coastal Team
submitted by Mr B. - |Recommended: NoThey are the worst ever I was assaulted on Jan 22 and they did nothing but try and cover it up and said I lied about it when I have pictures of the police report do not rent here they care more about money than the residents
response from property -Hi Andrew, We hope all is well. Thank you for providing feedback regarding our community. It's through feedback like yours that we can only improve. Andrew, we always want to make sure our residents are heard. In regards to your concerns, we highly recommend contacting the Conway Police Department when any roommate disputes occur. We as your Landlord are unable to mediate or get involved with any roommate disputes which is stated within your Lease Agreement. The safety of our Residents is our top priority, and Conway Police Department has the ability to enforce the law to ensure your safety within your unit. We are always here to listen and provide assistance, and can be reached at (843)310-3332 if additional assistance regarding this matter is needed. Sincerely, Bellamy Coastal Team
submitted by Rachel - |Recommended: NoWORST PLACE EVER Highly recommend not staying here, management is rude and not helpful. The apartments have bugs every where, trash is never picked up at the dumpsters, the gates never work, they advertise a smart home but it's not and the coded locks suck too. They even misplaced my mattress and refused to refund me. DO NOT RENT HERE
response from property -Hi Rachel, I have checked our systems and we don't have a resident profile in your name, we apologize you had issues but I if you reach out to us at 843-310-3332 we would like to speak with you further about the possible past issues you had.
submitted by Courtney (. - |Recommended: YesReview — Very nice and enjoy it so far
response from property -Courtney, thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear that you are having a great experience and enjoying your home. We strive on providing a peaceful atmosphere and being able to provide a cost-effective living experience. Best Wishes -The Bellamy Coastal Management Team.
submitted by Ryan M. - |Recommended: YesVery lenient and great place to live with good neighbors — It’s nice other than the bathroom there is no downstairs bathroom on two bedroom apartments which is very inconvenient when guests are over and they don’t change air filters enough
response from property -Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Unfortunately, there is only a 1/2 bathroom downstairs in the 4 bedroom apartment. We do change air filters quarterly as recommended, but if you ever feel as though you need this done in-between this service, you can place a maintenance request with the office or in your resident portal app.
submitted by Heather L. - |Recommended: NoNEVER — I would NEVER recommend someone to live here. Work orders get checked off without actually being fixed. The dumpster is ridiculous It is NOT a gated community, even after they praise about how it is. I moved here for that reason and have made many many complaints about it. Every time I try to make an appointment or speak to the property managers, I get told they are out and they will give me a call... However, I get ABSOLUTLEY NOTHING.
response from property -Heather, we are sorry to hear that you are not enjoying your stay at Bellamy Coastal, however, the Property Manager has reached out to you several times. You had an appointment set to meet with them and did not show up. We reached out to you multiple times to reschedule this meeting to discuss your concerns. Please call the office or reply to the emails to let us know what a good time would be to discuss your concerns.
submitted by Olakunle B. - |Recommended: NoBad management — Had multiple bad interactions with management
response from property -Mr. Bello, we are sorry to hear that your experience has not been great. Please call us at 843-310-3332 to let us know what we can do to improve your experience living at Bellamy.
submitted by Joshua C. - |Recommended: YesOverpriced — Overpriced. I do not recommend.
response from property -Hi Joshua, Thank you for the feedback, I will be sure to send your concerns to our corporate office. Have a great day. Bellamy Coastal
submitted by Patricia M. - |Recommended: YesHome Sweet Home — Living at Bellamy is a great time. You are always greeted right away when you walk into the office. The townhomes are spacious. If there ever is a problem, management is quick to take care of things for you. You can tell Bellamy is striving toward giving that luxury apartment living and I have truly appreciated my time here
response from property -Patricia, thank you for your great review! We are excited to hear that you love it at Bellamy Coastal Apartments. We want all of our residents to all feel like life is better at Bellamy.
submitted by Susan R. - |Recommended: NoNot great, needs cleaning and tending to — The actual town houses are fine, but with maintenance seems to take a while to have issues fixed and if there is an issue with more than one individual's room ALL issues within the townhouse should be looked at and assessed or fixed at the same time unless it's something that would need to schedule extra time for. Additionally, trying to get a hold of someone today - 6 calls only able to leave 1 message, since subsequent calls cut off then followed up with 3 emails - it was regarding the rent payment so a call, text or message back would have been helpful. I understand there were staff issues, but we're a month in and I hope this isn't an indication of the rest of the year.
response from property -Thank you for your review. We are sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. Your comments are very important to us and we want to be sure we are doing everything we can to meet your expectation. Please know, we are here for our residents. If you need any assistance our office staff is happy to assist. -Bellamy Coastal
submitted by Elwyn M. - |Recommended: NoNot a great experience — Getting things fixed is a process at Bellamy
response from property -Hi Elwyn, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We’re sorry you had a bad experience. We’ll strive to do better! Have a great day, Bellamy Coastal
submitted by Cailey D. - |Recommended: YesFew issues here and there — Its nice but there are a few issues inside the apartment. Some water damage and the walls a dirty but over all in good repair. Maintenance takes awhile, like the some of the lights in the apt are out and they havent been around to fix them. Once the trash compacter was fixed trash wasnt an issue and the pool is nice but could use a cleaning. Wish there were more events, like the pool party that was supposed to happen and then didn't.
response from property -Good afternoon Cailey, Thank you for your review. We are sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. Your comments are very important to us and we want to be sure we are doing everything we can to meet your expectation. Have a good day, Bellamy Carrollton
submitted by Austin W. - |Recommended: YesComfortable and home like feeling — Everything has been good, and when there are things that need to be fixed, they do a good job to get it done as soon as possible
response from property -Good afternoon Austin, Thank you for your review. We will share this with the team to let them know how we are doing! Sincerely, Bellamy Coastal

The views and opinions expressed herein are solely those of the original authors and other contributors. These views do not reflect the views of Bellamy Coastal, its owners, managers, agents, employees or content providers. No representation or warranty, express or implied, is made or given by Bellamy Coastal, its owners, managers, agents, employees or content providers regarding safety, accuracy, completeness or suitability of the information or material expressed herein for any particular purpose